For The Love of Bluegrass

IMG_20151030_192942

The “high lonesome sound” isn’t always heard in more modern contemporary Bluegrass music. The genre feels like its evolving but all the while still paying tribute to the original style. I can hear the influence of blues in the soulful lyrics and I can hear the influence of jam bands in the mind blowing solos. I have experienced large scale performances of every genre but no style can speak to my soul and fill my body with energy like Bluegrass.

In the past few years I’ve been showing my support for local music and going to see Horseshoes & Hand Grenades as well as Dead Horses perform. HHG plays with a progressive high energy unique style. When they perform they are always having a blast. All five members sing into the same mic that literally pulls the whole show together. Dead Horses brings an intensity to their shows that makes the hair on the back of your neck stand up. It makes you tap your toes, bounce your knees, and bob your head. They have an approachable sound that can be appreciated by all genre lovers. The talent that I’ve witnessed time and time again makes me proud to be a musician from Wisconsin. I’ve traveled near and far to see both these bands and I will never stop SUPPORTING LOCAL MUSIC!

Leave a Reply

