My Songwriting Process: No Paper Necessary

I often get asked about my song writing process. When I respond that I don’t sit down and write people are always surprised. I’m a songwriter that doesn’t physically write anything down. The story starts in my head, maybe with just one line or a few words. I grab an instrument and start playing. I continue to play and sing and then usually leave it for a little while. It gives me a chance to run words through my mind. I play. The song has a verse and a chorus. I take a break. I play. I play. I play. Never once picking up a pencil never once writing words down. My process is as much physical as it is mental. I let the song take its own shape.

12042899_935391459849639_2211371435030364401_n

Leave a Reply

